Treorchy Comprehensive School

On Monday the 26th of March forty students participated in Treorchy Comprehensive School’s Young Playwrights’ competition. Six plays were chosen to compete as finalists from around 30 entries. The students penned, produced, cast and directed their own productions which were then judged by acclaimed playwright Frank Vickery, Pobl Y Cwm Actor Rhys Bidder and Drama Professional Karen Walters. The evening was hugely successful and the students were extremely proud of their creations.

Lowri Jones year 11 was awarded best playwright for her script “Lights Out”, Megan Davey year 9 won best overall production for her touching play “Punch”. Others to scoop awards included Josh Hick year 9 for best male actor, Molly Elson for best female actor both of these roles were performed with real skill and flair. Lowri Evans won the award for actor with most potential, and Hannah Lloyd year 11 picked up best supporting actor for her hilarious performance. The teacher’s award for dedication and commitment was given to a group of year 9 pupils led and directed by Megan Dimond. A special award was introduced this year for a group whose play was particularly comedic, this award was won by the only all-male group “Mess-ups through time”, written by William Grenter and cleverly acted by Iwan Dyer, Thomas Allen, Sam Vaughan and Caelan Bradley.
The judges and audience were highly impressed by the students’ work, and Frank Vickery himself has already voiced his concern about the barrage of playwriting competition that is up and coming at Treorchy Comprehensive School!